Hours of Operation
Court House

M-F 8 am-4:30 pm
Closed Holidays
Sheriff's Office
Open 24 hours
West Door

Aitkin County 'Committee' Opportunities


Aitkin County Health & Human Services Advisory Committee

• Commissioner District 1 (Two Openings)
• Commissioner District 2 (One Opening)
• Commissioner District 3 (Two Openings)
• Commissioner District 4 (One Opening)

The Aitkin County Health & Human Services Advisory Committee is seeking members to fill its openings for next year. Members of the committee actively participate in the formulation and ongoing review of the plan for the development, implementation, and operation of the programs and services of the Health & Human Services Board in its mission to assist citizens, preserve families, and promote dignity, safety, health, responsibility, and self-sufficiency.

Term is for two years and must be able to commit to attending, at least, six meetings per year.

Applications are being accepted until the positions are filled.  To request an application packet or more information on these openings please call Shawn at 218-927-7203 or by emailing shawn.speed@co.aitkin.mn.us

         - Application for Committee Position


Aitkin County Housing Authority Board

Terms:  5 Years

To address itself to the housing problems of the county, such as substandard or blighted areas which cannot be redeveloped without government assistance or the shortage of decent, safe and sanitary housing available to persons of low income:  initiate grant applications to state and federal agencies for construction of housing.


Meetings & Compensation:

Applications will be accepted until Noon on December 27, 2019, or until filled.  Applications can be found on the link below, or mailed to you if requested. Please contact Teresa Smude at: teresa@aitkinhra.org for more information.

The Aitkin County Board of Commissioners will make the committee selections from submitted applications at an upcoming County Board meeting. All applicants will receive notification by mail whether or not they have been selected. 

- Application for Committee Position