Hours of Operation
Court House

M-F 8 am-4:30 pm
Closed Holidays
Sheriff's Office
Open 24 hours
West Door

Aitkin County Board

Photo of County Board members standing on steps to Courthouse.


The Board provides elected representatives of the County with legislative control over matters of policy, as established by State Statute.  The County Board exercises budgetary control through the adoption of an annual budget certified by major fund.  The County Board appoints various citizen committees to render advice on legislative and policy-related matters and provides general direction to the operating departments through the County Administrator.





Aitkin County Board Members:
  • district map icon imageJ. Mark Wedel  - Vice Chair, Commissioner District 1
  • Laurie Westerlund - Commissioner District 2
  • Donald Niemi - Commissioner District 3
  • William "Bill" Pratt - Commissioner District 4
  • Anne Marcotte - Chairperson, Commissioner District 5
Click image to view larger map
Commissioner & District 2019 Boards & Committees

Photo of Commissioner Mark WedelDistrict 1
City - Aitkin
Townships - Aitkin, Spencer

J. Mark Wedel, Vice Chair
515 6th Avenue SE
Aitkin, MN 56431
218-838-9324 (cell)
Term: 2019-2022

Aitkin Airport Commission
Aitkin County Community Corrections Advisory Board
Aitkin County Water Planning Task Force
Aitkin Economic Development Administration
Aquatic Invasive Species (AIS)
Emergency Management
Budget Committee
Facilities/Technology Committee
H&HS Advisory Committee (Liason)
Historical Society (Liaison)
Investment Committee
Labor Management Committee
Personnel/Insurance Committee
Sobriety Court
Toward Zero Deaths


Laurie Westerlund photoDistrict 2
Townships - Farm Island, Hazelton, Malmo,
Nordland, Wealthwood

Laurie Westerlund
30517 270th Lane
Aitkin, MN 56431
Term: 2017-2020

Aitkin County CARE Board
AMC Delegates
Arrowhead Counties Association
Arrowhead Economic Opportunity Agency
Arrowhead Regional Development Center(Alt.)
ATV Committee
Budget Committee
Development Achievement Center (Liaison)
Extension Committee
HHS Advisory Committee (Liason)
Housing and Redevelopment Authority (Liason)
Investment Committee
Labor Management Committee (Alt.)
MCIT Representative
Mille Lacs Fisheries Input Group
Mille Lacs Watershed
Northeast Waste Advisory Committee (Alt.)
Planning Commission
Rum River 1W1P Policy Committee
Solid Waste Task Force
Tri-County Community Health Services Board

Donald Niemi photoDistrict 3
City - McGrath
Townships - Beaver, Glen, Idun, Kimberly, Lakeside, Lee, Millward North, Millward South, Pliny, Rice River, Salo, Seavey, Spalding, Wagner, White Pine, Williams, Unorg Townships - 47-24, 45-24

Donald Niemi
32340 State Hwy 47
Aitkin, MN 56431
Term: 2019-2022

AMC Delegates
Arrowhead Counties Association
Arrowhead Regional Development Council
Arrowhead Economic Opportunity Agency (Alt.)
Development Achievement Center (Alt.)
East Central Regional Library Board
Economic Development
Investment Committee
Lakes & Pines
Law Library
Mille Lakes Watershed (Alt.)
NE MN Office Job Training
MN Rural Counties
Northeast MN ATP (Alt.)
Rum River 1W1P Policy Committee (AH.)


Bill Pratt photoDistrict 4
Cities - McGregor, Tamarack
Townships - Clark, Fleming, Haugen, Jevne,
McGregor, Morrison, Shamrock, Workman

Bill Pratt
36991 450th Street
Palisade, MN 56469
Term: 2017-2020

AMC Delegates
ATV Committee
Aquatic Invasive Species (AIS)
Big Sandy Lake Management Plan
East Central Regional Library (Alt.)
Economic Development
Environmental Assessment Worksheet
Investment Committee
Joint Powers Natural Resources Board
Mississippi Headwaters Board (Alt.)
McGregor Airport Commission
MN Rural Counties (Alt)
Natural Resources Advisory Committee
Northeast MN ATP
Northeast Waste Advisory Committee
Northern Counties Land Use Coordinating Board (Alt.)
Ordinance Committee
Snake River Watershed Management Board
Solid Waste Task Force

Anne Marcotte PhotoDistrict 5
Cities - Hill City, Palisade
Townships - Ball Bluff, Balsam, Cornish, Hill Lake,
Libby, Logan, MacVille, Turner, Verdon,
Unorg Townships - 52-27, 52-25, 52-24, 52-22, 51-27, 51-25, 51-22, 50-27, 50-26, 50-25, 49-27, 48-27

Anne Marcotte, Chair
P.O. Box 192
Hill City, MN 55748
Term: 2019-2022

AMC Delegates
Aitkin County Community Corrections Advisory Board
Big Sandy Lake Management Plan (Alt.)
Environmental Assessment Worksheet
Extension Committee (Alt.)
Facilities/Technology Committee
Investment Committee
Lakes & Pines (Alt.)
Mississippi Headwaters Board
Natural Resources Advisory Committee
NE MN Emergency Communications Board
Northern Counties Land Use Coordinating Board
Ordinance Committee
Personnel/Insurance Committee