AITKIN COUNTY BOARD – BUDGET HEARING

December 11, 2018

The Aitkin County Board of Commissioners met this 11th day of December, 2018 at 6:08 p.m. at Aitkin City Hall with the following members present: Board Chair Anne Marcotte, Commissioners J. Mark Wedel, Don Niemi, Bill Pratt, County Administrator Jessica Seibert, and Administrative Assistant Sue Bingham. Commissioner Laurie Westerlund was absent. The following Department Heads were also present: County Auditor Kirk Peysar, County Assessor Mike Dangers, County Attorney Jim Ratz, County Engineer John Welle, County Treasurer Lori Grams, Environmental Services Director Terry Neff, IT Director Steve Bennett, Health & Human Services Director Cynthia Bennett, and Land Commissioner Rich Courtemanche.

CALL TO ORDER

Anne Marcotte, Board Chair welcomed everyone, and gave a brief explanation of what to expect during the Budget Hearing.

BOARD CHAIR COMMENTS

County Assessor Mike Dangers offered to bring several residents back to his office at the Courthouse to discuss their valuations.

VALUATIONS

Jessica Seibert, County Administrator presented information on Aitkin County's 2019 proposed budget, including:

2019 BUDGET AND LEVY PRESENTATION

- Understanding Property Tax Statements (Video)
- > 2019 Budget & Levy
- Proposed Tax Statement
- Projected County Property Tax Statement
- Revenues & Expenditures
- > Staffing
- Fund Balance

Denise Noling had questions about the new Government Center, Mark Miller had a question about valuation, Robert Weber had questions about valuation and the Sheriff's Department budget, and Dan Bobseen had a bonding question. Mark Miller and Robert Weber went to the County Assessor's Office for assistance with their valuation questions.

PUBLIC COMMENTS

Commissioner Wedel reminded everyone that the final levy will be set at the County Board meeting on December 18, 2018, and that the Board meeting will be held at the Aitkin Library at 9:00 a.m.

FINAL LEVY TO BE ADOPTED DECEMBER 18TH

Board Chair Anne Marcotte thanked everyone for their comments and for attending the Budget Hearing.

THANKS

Motion by Commissioner Wedel, seconded by Commissioner Pratt and carried, all members present voting to adjourn the meeting at 6:48 p.m.

ADJOURN

Anne Marcotte, Board Chair Aitkin County Board of Commissioners

Jessica Seibert, County Administrator