Government Center Board Room
The Governor of the State of Minnesota has issued Executive Order 20-01 Declaring a Peacetime Emergency
and Coordinating Minnesota’s Strategy to Protect Minnesotans from COVID-19. Based on these conditions,
the Chair of the Aitkin County Board of Commissioners has determined that the requirements of Minnesota
Statute 13D.021, Subd. (1) have been met and it is not practical or prudent for all members of the county board
to meet in person. Therefore, on April 9th, 2020 the Aitkin County Board Chair signed a Determination related
to COVID-19 part of which allows that the public, as well as some or all members of the County Board to join
County board meetings remotely.

The public is invited to join the meeting remotely by phone call 1-415-655-0001, (access code):126 479 5920; (meeting password): 7282

9:00 1) Bill Pratt, County Board Chair

  A) Call to Order

  B) Pledge of Allegiance

  C) Board of Commissioners Meeting Procedure

  D) Approval of Agenda

E) Citizens’ Public Comment – Comments from visitors must be informational in nature and not exceed (5) minutes per person. The County Board generally will not engage in a discussion or debate in those five minutes but will take the information and find answers if that is appropriate. As part of the County Board protocol, it is unacceptable for any speaker to slander or engage in character assassination at a public Board meeting.
Anyone attending virtually wishing to speak during the public comment period should notify the County Administrator’s office at 218-927-7276 option 7 no later than 2:30 P.M. on the Monday before the meeting.

2) Consent Agenda – All items on the Consent Agenda are considered to be routine and have been made available to the County Board at least two days prior to the meeting; the items will be enacted by one motion. There will be no separate discussion of these items unless a Board member or citizen so requests, in which event the item will be removed from this Agenda and considered under separate motion.

  A) Correspondence File December 22, 2020 – January 4, 2021

  B) Approve December 22, 2020 County Board Minutes

9:05 ADJOURN (2020 BOARD) – Administer Oath of Office, Judge Hermerding

1. District 2 Commissioner Laurie Westerlund

2. District 4 Commissioner Brian Napstad

9:15   3) Jessica Seibert, County Administrator

  A) Call to Order 2021 Board Meeting

4) 2021 County Board Nominations

  A) Nominations for Board Chair & Vice Chair

9:25   5) Consent Agenda

  A) Approve Electronic Funds Transfers

  B) Approve Commissioner Vouchers

  C) Approve Auditor’s Vouchers – Contegrity, Hwy. Dept, Year End Payments

  D) Approve Manual Warrants/Voids/Corrections – NSF Check, Period 3

  E) Approve Manual Warrants/Voids/Corrections – Elan paid 12/10/20 Allocated

  F) Approve Manual Warrants/Voids/Corrections – PEIP Fee’s, FSA Claims

  G) Approve Manual Warrants/Voids/Corrections – Elan paid 12/24/20

  H) Approve Manual Warrants/Voids/Corrections – FSA Claims 2020

  I) Approve Extension Committee Reappointments

  J) Approve Reaffirm Annual Code of Ethics

  K) Approve Renew SSTS and Permit Inspection Contract

  L) Adopt Resolution: County Relief Grants Certification

  M) Adopt Resolution: Award Contract No. 20211

9:28 6) Rich Courtemanche, Land Commissioner

  A) Approve Purchase of Enterprise Version of ESRI GIS Software

  B) Adopt Resolution: Conveyance of Tax Forfeited Land to Hill City

  C) Direction Requested: City of Palisade Request for Parcel in City Limits

9:58 7) John Welle, County Engineer

  A) Discussion Item: 2019/2020 Highway Contract Summary

  B) Approve 2021 Highway Contract Schedule

  C) Adopt Resolution: Speed Zone Studies – CSAH 3 and CSAH 10

  D) Adopt Resolution: TH 210 Detour Agreement

10:43 8) Bobbie Danielson, HR Director

A) Approve Personnel Committee Recommendations
a. Approve the Interim COVID-19 Policy
b. Approve Hiring a Temporary PT Employee to Administer the State COVID Relief Package

10:53 9) Jessica Seibert – County Administrator

  A) Adopt Resolution: 2021 Board of Commissioners Meeting Procedures

  B) Adopt Resolution: Designation of Official County Newspaper

  C) Adopt Resolution: 2021 Committee Appointments

  D) Approve Setting 2021 Board Meeting Schedule

  E) Administrator Updates

11:13 10) Committee Updates

11:43     Ajourn


Return to 2021 Board Meeting Calendar