July 28, 2020 – BOARD AGENDA

Government Center Board Room
The Governor of the State of Minnesota has issued Executive Order 20-01 Declaring a Peacetime Emergency
and Coordinating Minnesota’s Strategy to Protect Minnesotans from COVID-19. Based on these conditions,
the Chair of the Aitkin County Board of Commissioners has determined that the requirements of Minnesota
Statute 13D.021, Subd. (1) have been met and it is not practical or prudent for all members of the county board
to meet in person. Therefore, on April 9th, 2020 the Aitkin County Board Chair signed a Determination related
to COVID-19 part of which allows that the public, as well as some or all members of the County Board to join
County board meetings remotely.

The public is invited to join the meeting remotely by phone call 1-415-655-0001, (access code):126 603 0970; (meeting password): 7282

9:00 1) Bill Pratt, County Board Chair

  A) Call to Order

  B) Pledge of Allegiance

  C) Board of Commissioners Meeting Procedure

  D) Approval of Agenda

9:05 E) Health & Human Services (see separate HHS agenda)

10:10 Break

10:20 F) Citizens’ Public Comment – Comments from visitors must be informational in nature and not exceed (5) minutes per person. The County Board generally will not engage in a discussion or debate in those five minutes but will take the information and find answers if that is appropriate. As part of the County Board protocol, it is unacceptable for any speaker to slander or engage in character assassination at a public Board meeting.

Anyone, whether attending in person or virtually, wishing to speak during the public comment period should notify the County Administrator’s office at 218-927-7276 option 7 no later than 2:30 P.M. on the Monday before the meeting.

   2) Consent Agenda – All items on the Consent Agenda are considered to be routine and have been made available to the County Board at least two days prior to the meeting; the items will be enacted by one motion. There will be no separate discussion of these items unless a Board member or citizen so requests, in which event the item will be removed from this Agenda and considered under separate motion.

  A) Correspondence File July 14, 2020 to July 27, 2020

  B) Approve July 14, 2020 County Board Minutes

  C) Approve Electronic Funds Transfers

  D) Approve Commissioner Vouchers

  E) Approve Auditor’s Vouchers

  F) Approve Auditor’s Vouchers – Sales/Use Tax, Diesel Tax

  G) Approve Auditor’s Vouchers

  H) Approve Auditor’s Vouchers

  I) Approve Manual Warrants/Voids/Corrections – Mtg, Reg. Tax, State Deed Tax

  J) Approve Manual Warrants/Voids/Corrections – Elan Paid 7/9/20

  K) Approve Manual Warrants/Voids/Corrections – FSA Claims

  L) Approve Manual Warrants/Voids/Corrections – Camping Refund (COVID), NNSF Partial Refunds (COVID), FSA Claims

  M) Approve Manual Warrants/Voids/Corrections – Elan Paid 7/9/20

  N) Approve Manual Warrants/Voids/Corrections – Stop Pay Check

  O) Approve Manual Warrants/Voids/Corrections – NNSF Refunds (COVID), Registrations

  P) Approve Norseman Motorcycle Club Proposed EAW

  Q) Approve Guidelines & Procedures for MN Government Data Practices Act

  R) Approve Highway Department Office Expansion/Renovation Update

  S) Adopt Resolution: Final Contract Payment – Contract No. 20194

  T) Adopt Resolution: COPS Hiring Grant Award

  U) Adopt Resolution: Donation to Aitkin County Veteran Services

10:25   3) Rich Courtemanche – Land Commissioner

  A) Forfeited Tax Sale Apportionment Discussion

10:35   4) Ross Wagner – Economic Development Coordinator

  A) Aitkin County CARES for Business Grants

  B) Award Aitkin County Broadband Grants

11:05   5) Bobbie Danielson – HR Director

  A) Personnel Committee Recommendations

11:15   6) Jessica Seibert – County Administrator

  A) Administrator Updates

  B) 2nd Quarter 2020 Budget Review Discussion

  C) Coronavirus Relief Fund Discussion

11:45   7) Committee Updates

12:15   8) Jim Ratz – County Attorney

  A) Closed Session Under MN Statute 13D.05 Subd 3b Attorney Client Privilege

12:20     Adjourn


Return to 2020 Board Meeting Calendar