December 15, 2020 – BOARD AGENDA

Government Center Board Room
The Governor of the State of Minnesota has issued Executive Order 20-01 Declaring a Peacetime Emergency
and Coordinating Minnesota’s Strategy to Protect Minnesotans from COVID-19. Based on these conditions,
the Chair of the Aitkin County Board of Commissioners has determined that the requirements of Minnesota
Statute 13D.021, Subd. (1) have been met and it is not practical or prudent for all members of the county board
to meet in person. Therefore, on April 9th, 2020 the Aitkin County Board Chair signed a Determination related
to COVID-19 part of which allows that the public, as well as some or all members of the County Board to join
County board meetings remotely.

The public is invited to join the meeting remotely by phone call 1-415-655-0001, (access code):126 431 0148; (meeting password): 7282

1:50 1) Bill Pratt, County Board Chair

  A) Call to Order

  B) Pledge of Allegiance

  C) Board of Commissioners Meeting Procedure

  D) Approval of Agenda

E) Citizens’ Public Comment – Comments from visitors must be informational in nature and not exceed (5) minutes per person (when there is a large number of speakers to be heard, the Board of Commissioners may shorten this time). The County Board generally will not engage in a discussion or debate in those five minutes but will take the information and find answers if that is appropriate. As part of the County Board protocol, it is unacceptable for any speaker to slander or engage in character assassination at a public Board meeting.
Anyone attending virtually wishing to speak during the public comment period should notify the County Administrator’s office at 218-927-7276 option 7 no later than 2:30 P.M. on the Monday before the meeting.

   2) Consent Agenda – All items on the Consent Agenda are considered to be routine and have been made available to the County Board at least two days prior to the meeting; the items will be enacted by one motion. There will be no separate discussion of these items unless a Board member or citizen so requests, in which event the item will be removed from this Agenda and considered under separate motion.

  A) Correspondence File November 24, 2020 to December 14, 2020

  B) Approve November 24, 2020 County Board Minutes

  C) Approve Electronic Funds Transfers

  D) Approve Commissioner Vouchers

  E) Approve Commissioner Vouchers

  F) Approve Auditor’s Vouchers – CARES Warrants, Sheriff’s Vehicles, Motor Pool Vehicles

  G) Approve Auditor’s Vouchers

  H) Approve Auditor’s Vouchers – Contegrity, R&B

  I) Approve Manual Warrants/Voids/Corrections – FSA Claims

  J) Approve Manual Warrants/Voids/Corrections – Elan paid 11/13/20 – Allocated

  K) Approve Manual Warrants/Voids/Corrections – November Participant Fees

  L) Approve Manual Warrants/Voids/Corrections – 2020 Estimated MN Care Tax

  M) Approve Manual Warrants/Voids/Corrections – Medical FSA Claims

  N) Approve Manual Warrants/Voids/Corrections – Elan paid 11/27/20

  O) Approve Manual Warrants/Voids/Corrections – FSA Claims

  P) Approve Manual Warrants/Voids/Corrections – LLCC Credit Card Fee’s

  Q) Approve Manual Warrants/Voids/Corrections – Mtg Reg & Deed Tax – November

  R) Approve Manual Warrants/Voids/Corrections – Elan paid 11/27/20 Allocated

  S) Approve Fire Protection Contract – Town of Ball Bluff

  T) Approve 2020 Engagement Letter – CliftonLarsonAllen

  U) Approve Human Trafficking JPA

  V) Approve Aitkin County Electronic Funds Policy/Procedure

  W) Approve One Year Extensions for Listed Timber Sales

  X) Approve 2020 Voting Equipment Grant

  Y) Approve Board of Adjustment and Planning Commission Appointments

  Z) Adopt Resolution: Final Contract Payment – Contract No. 20196

  AA) Adopt Resolution: Reaffirming Change/Petty Cash Funds

  BB) Cedar Lake Wildlife Management Area Acquisition – Information Only

1:55 3) Terry Neff – Environmental Services Director

  A) Approve Soliciting RFP’s for Operation of the Recycling Center and Drop Off Locations

  B) Approve Food, Beverage and Lodging License Fee Delay

2:15   4) Kirk Peysar – County Auditor

  A) Approve Liquor License Fee Delay

2:25  5) Ross Wagner – Economic Development & Forest Industry Coordinator

  A) Mille Lacs East ATV Trail Update, Route Alignment - Discussion

2:45     Break

2:55   6) Jessica Seibert – County Administrator

  A) Administrator Updates

  B) 2021 Commissioner Salaries – Discussion

  C) 2021 Elected Officials Salaries – Discussion

  D) Long Lake Conservation Center Fund Transfer – Discussion

  E) 2020 Reserve Requests – Discussion

  F) 2021 Budget Review – Direction Requested

4:05   7) Committee Updates

4:35     Break

4:45   8) Kirk Peysar – County Auditor

  A) Closed Session Under MN Statute 13D.05 Subd 3b Attorney Client Privilege

4:55   9) Mike Dangers – County Assessor

  A) Closed Session Under MN Statute 13D.05 Subd 3b Attorney Client Privilege

5:15   10) Dan Guida – Sheriff

  A) Closed Session Under MN Statute 13D.05 Subd 3b Attorney Client Privilege

5:45   11) Kirk Peysar – County Auditor

  A) Approve Decision on Authorizing Repurchase

5:50    Adjourn


Return to 2020 Board Meeting Calendar