August 11, 2020 – BOARD AGENDA

Government Center Board Room
The Governor of the State of Minnesota has issued Executive Order 20-01 Declaring a Peacetime Emergency
and Coordinating Minnesota’s Strategy to Protect Minnesotans from COVID-19. Based on these conditions,
the Chair of the Aitkin County Board of Commissioners has determined that the requirements of Minnesota
Statute 13D.021, Subd. (1) have been met and it is not practical or prudent for all members of the county board
to meet in person. Therefore, on April 9th, 2020 the Aitkin County Board Chair signed a Determination related
to COVID-19 part of which allows that the public, as well as some or all members of the County Board to join
County board meetings remotely.

The public is invited to join the meeting remotely by phone call 1-415-655-0001, (access code):126 999 0092; (meeting password): 82233299

9:00 1) Bill Pratt, County Board Chair

  A) Call to Order

  B) Pledge of Allegiance

  C) Board of Commissioners Meeting Procedure

  D) Approval of Agenda

  E) Citizens’ Public Comment – Comments from visitors must be informational in nature and not exceed (5) minutes per person. The County Board generally will not engage in a discussion or debate in those five minutes but will take the information and find answers if that is appropriate. As part of the County Board protocol, it is unacceptable for any speaker to slander or engage in character assassination at a public Board meeting.

Anyone, whether attending in person or virtually, wishing to speak during the public comment period should notify the County Administrator’s office at 218-927-7276 option 7 no later than 2:30 P.M. on the Monday before the meeting.

   2) Consent Agenda – All items on the Consent Agenda are considered to be routine and have been made available to the County Board at least two days prior to the meeting; the items will be enacted by one motion. There will be no separate discussion of these items unless a Board member or citizen so requests, in which event the item will be removed from this Agenda and considered under separate motion.

  A) Correspondence File July 29, 2020 to August 10, 2020

  B) Approve July 28, 2020 County Board Minutes

  C) Approve Electronic Funds Transfers

  D) Approve Commissioner Vouchers

  E) Approve Auditor’s Vouchers – Property Tax Overpayment

  F) Approve Auditor’s Vouchers – Road & Bridge

  G) Approve Manual Warrants/Voids/Corrections – Camping Refund (COVID)

  H) Approve Manual Warrants/Voids/Corrections – Camping Refund (COVID), FSA, PEIP

  I) Approve Manual Warrants/Voids/Corrections – Elan Paid 7/23/20

  J) Approve Manual Warrants/Voids/Corrections – Camping Refund (COVID)

  K) Approve Manual Warrants/Voids/Corrections – FSA Claims

  L) Approve Manual Warrants/Voids/Corrections – Elan Paid 7/23/20 Allocated

  M) Approve Manual Warrants/Voids/Corrections – LLCC Credit Card Fee’s

  N) Approve Primary and General Election Recount Agreements

  O) Approve LLCC – Additional COVID Protections and Protocols

  P) Adopt Resolution: County VSO Operational Enhancement Grant Program

9:03   3) Jessica Seibert – County Administrator

  A) Peter Alexander – Census Update

  B) Approve Change Order

  C) Organizational Agreement Options for Rum River 1W1P Policy Committee

9:38   4) Dan Guida – Sheriff

  A) 2021 Budget Presentation

10:00  5) John Welle – County Engineer

  A) Public Hearing – ADA Transition Plan for Public Rights of Way

  B) Approve 2019 Annual Report

10:30   6) Rich Courtemanche – Land Commissioner

  A) Proposed 2021 – Land Dept. Budget

  B) Collaborating with USDA – LCCMR – PNCML Grant Discussion


11:10   7) Jessica Seibert – County Administrator

  A) Administrator Updates

  B) 2021 General Government Budget Presentation

  C) Appropriations & Dues Discussion

  D) CARES Act Fund Discussion

  E) License Center Update

12:15   8) Committee Updates

12:45     Adjourn


Return to 2020 Board Meeting Calendar