

Financial Impact:

Is this budgeted?

Is there a cost associated with this request?

What is the total cost, with tax and shipping? \$ as attached

Board of County Commissioners Agenda Request

Requested Meeting Date: November 26, 2019

2R

Agenda Item #

Title of Item: Designating Mail Balloting for elections in unorganized towns Action Requested: Direction Requested REGULAR AGENDA Approve/Deny Motion Discussion Item CONSENT AGENDA Adopt Resolution (attach draft) Hold Public Hearing* INFORMATION ONLY *provide copy of hearing notice that was published Submitted by: Department: Kirk Peysar, County Auditor Auditor **Estimated Time Needed:** Presenter (Name and Title): Kirk Peysar, County Auditor Summary of Issue: Two additional townships that supported unorganized township elections are no longer available for that support. WaukenaboTownship, which supported the NW P2 Unorganized Towns of (49-27, 50-27, 50-26, 50-25, &51-25) has adopted mail balloting; Hill Lake Township, which supported the NW P1 Unorganized Towns of (52-25 and 52-27) has also adopted mail balloting. With the majority of unorganized towns moving to mail balloting, it is further recommended that the remainder of unorganized towns be designated mail ballot precincts, those are Unorganized Town 45-24 (Jewett), Unorganized Town 47-24 (Davidson), and Unorganized Town 51-27 (LeMay) The County Board has the authority to designate mail balloting for these unorganized towns under MN Statute 204B.45 for federal, state, county, and local elections. Alternatives, Options, Effects on Others/Comments: Recommended Action/Motion: Adopt resolution designating mail balloting for the NW P1 Unorganized Towns, NW P2 Unorganized Towns, Unorganized Town 45-24, 47-24, and 51-27.

Please Explain:

No

CERTIFIED COPY OF RESOLUTION OF COUNTY BOARD OF AITKIN COUNTY, MINNESOTA

ADOPTED November 26, 2019

By Commissioner: xx

20191126-0xx

Mail Balloting

WHEREAS, Minnesota Statute 204B.45 requires the designation of local polling places for elections annually; Two additional townships that supported unorganized township elections are no longer available for that support.

WaukenaboTownship, which supported the NW P2 Unorganized Towns of (49-27, 50-27, 50-26, 50-25, &51-25) has adopted mail balloting; Hill Lake Township, which supported the NW P1 Unorganized Towns of (52-25 and 52-27) has also adopted mail balloting.

With the majority of unorganized towns moving to mail balloting, it is further recommended that the remainder of unorganized towns be designated mail ballot precincts, those are Unorganized Town 45-24 (Jewett), Unorganized Town 47-24 (Davidson), and Unorganized Town 51-27 (LeMay).

The County Board has the authority to designate mail balloting for these unorganized towns under MN Statute 204B.45 for federal, state, county, and local elections.

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Aitkin County Board of Commissioners, acting on behalf of the unorganized townships in Aitkin County designate Mail Balloting for the precincts of NW P2 Unorganized Towns of (49-27, 50-27, 50-26, 50-25, &51-25), Hill Lake Township, which supported the NW P1 Unorganized Towns of (52-25; and Unorganized Town 45-24 (Jewett), Unorganized Town 47-24 (Davidson), and Unorganized Town 51-27 (LeMay).

Commissioner xx moved the adoption of the resolution and it was declared adopted upon the following vote

FIVE MEMBERS PRESENT
STATE OF MINNESOTA;
COUNTY OF AITKIN;

All Members Voting Yes

I, Jessica Seibert, County Administrator, Aitkin County, Minnesota do hereby certify that I have compared the foregoing with the original resolution filed in the Administration Office of Aitkin County in Aitkin, Minnesota as stated in the minutes of the proceedings of said Board on the 26th day of November, 2019, and that the same is a true and correct copy of the whole thereof.

Witness my hand and seal this 26th day of November 2019

Jessica Seibert County Administrator