January 3, 2017– BOARD AGENDA

9:00             1) J. Mark Wedel, County Board Chair
                           A) Call to Order
                           B) Pledge of Allegiance
                           C) Board of Commissioners Meeting Procedure
                           D) Approval of Agenda
                           E) Citizens’ Public Comment – Comments from visitors must be informational in nature and not exceed (5) minutes per person. The County Board generally will not engage in a discussion or debate in those five minutes but will take the information and find answers if that is appropriate. As part of the County Board protocol, it is unacceptable for any speaker to slander or engage in character assassination at a public Board meeting.

                     2) Consent Agenda – All items on the Consent Agenda are considered to be routine and have been made available to the County Board at least two days prior to the meeting; the items will be enacted by one motion. There will be no separate discussion of these items unless a Board member or citizen so requests, in which event the item will be removed from this Agenda and considered under separate motion.
                            A) Correspondence File December 20, 2016 – January 2, 2017
                            B) Approve 12/20/16 County Board Minutes
                            C) Acknowledge County Administrator' Approval of Year-End Matters
                                 1. 2017 Liquor License Renewal - Prairie River Retreat

9:05         ADJOURN (2016 BOARD) – Administer Oath of Office
                                 1. District 2 Commissioner Laurie Westerlund
                                 2. District 4 Commissioner Bill Pratt

9:20               3) Patrick Wussow, Interim County Administrator
                            A) Call to Order 2017 Board Meeting

                      4) 2017 County Board Nominations
                            A) Nominations for Chairperson & Vice Chairperson

9:25               5) Administer Oath of Office, County Board Chairperson
                            A) Mike Dangers, County Assessor

9:30               6) Consent Agenda
                            A) Approve Commissioner Warrants
                            B) Approve Auditor Warrants – 2016 Period 2 Real Estate Tax Overpays
                            C) Accept $150.00 Donation to the Aitkin County STS Program from the Riceland Chapter of Minnesota
                                 Deer Hunters Association

                            D) Approve MCIS JPA & By Bylaw Updates
                            E) Authorize entering into an Agreement with the State Auditor 2016

9:32               7) Patrick Wussow, Interim County Administrator
                            A) Set 2017 Board Meeting Schedule
                            B) Adopt Resolution – 2017 Official County Newspaper
                            C) Adopt Resolution – 2017 Aitkin County Board of Commissioners Rules of Business & Meeting Procedures
                            D) Adopt Resolutions (2) – Committee Appointments – Commissioners

10:00             8) Bobbie Danielson, HR Director
                           A) Personnel Committee Recommendations
                                 1) County Administrator Recruitment
                                 2) HHS Director Recruitment

10:30             9) Committee Updates

11:00       Break

11:05            10) Patrick Wussow, Interim County Administrator
                            A) Closed Session Under MN Statute 13D. 05 Subd. 3b Attorney Client Privilege

11:25       Break, return to open session

11:30            11) Patrick Wussow, Interim County Administrator
                            A) Potential Action Related to Individual Subject to Board Authority

11:40            12) Adjourn


Full Board Meeting Packet (PDF 6.6MB)

Post Meeting Items:     Signed Minutes       Synopsis        Resolutions        Board Correspondence/Handouts

Return to 2017 Board Meeting Calendar
Return to 2016 Board Meeting Calendar